Ben Webster - In A Mellotone

Product Code: CCS 79106
Availability: In Stock



Track List:
1) In A Mellow Tone
2) Over the Rainbow
3) Gone With The Wind
4) Someone To Watch Over Me
5) C Jam Blues
6) Perdido
7) Stardust
8) Ben's Blues
9) My Romance
10) Ben's Theme Tune
11) Interview with Ben Webster

Ben Webster - tenor saxophone
Alan Branscombe - piano
Lennie Bush – bass
Jackie Dougan – drums

Recorded live at Ronnie Scott’s Club, 39 Gerrard Street, London on 14th and 15th May 1965, this collection finds the unique Ben Webster at his superb best, swinging, strolling and serenading over the impeccable piano/bass/drums of Alan Branscombe, Lennie Bush and Jackie Dougan. 

As these sets amply demonstrate Ben’s breathy warmth on slow tunes like Over the Rainbow, Someone To Watch Over Me, Stardust and My Romance was in distinct contrast to his dynamic power on guaranteed swingers of the calibre of In A Mellow Tone, Gone With the Wind, Perdido and C Jam Blues. 

The alternate sets that night were being supplied by the Tubby Hayes Quartet and the irrepressible Tubby can be heard urging on his idol and thus adding to the general excitement. If you strain your ears, at one point you may even catch Tubby extolling to a companion in virtues of his friend Branscombe.

Write a review

Note: HTML is not translated!
    Bad           Good